An injury occurring while on the job is handled very differently than one that happens in your free time. In Virginia, almost every employer must carry workers compensation coverage for its employees. Even if your job is only part-time, you are still covered.
If you were hurt while on the job, the Courtland personal injury and workers’ comp law firm at Rutter Mills can help. We have a proud 50-year history of defending workers whose claims were initially denied by the employer’s insurance company.
Workers’ compensation was designed so that injured workers did not have to prove that an employer was negligent, as may occur in standard personal injury cases, or that any party was at fault. When the system works correctly, the injured employee has their medical expenses covered by their employer’s insurance company and receives either temporary or permanent disability payments.
Unfortunately, the system often does not work correctly. The large insurance companies providing employer coverage want to protect their bottom line and may deny rightful claims or allege that a work-related illness or injury is less serious than it is. An employer may try to intimidate a worker into not filing a workers’ compensation claim, perhaps by threatening to fire the individual or by cutting work hours and demotions.
This behavior is illegal under Virginia’s workers’ compensation laws, but many injured employees do not know their rights. In addition, the process itself is often complicated and may leave people not knowing where to turn.
The workers’ comp lawyers at Rutter Mills will protect the rights of employees whose claims were unjustly denied and fight with big insurance companies so that their clients receive the benefits they deserve.
What to do after an injury
If you are injured while on the job, you must follow proper procedures. First, tell your supervisor about the injury immediately. While workers’ comp regulations require the use of an insurance company-approved healthcare provider, that is not true in an emergency.
Make sure you formally report the injury to your employer in writing within 30 days. Provide all relevant details, including the nature of the injury or illness, and the date and place in which it happened. Failure to do so can jeopardize your workers’ comp claim. If your employer does not receive your written report within the time limit, they do not have to pay for your medical bills.
There is a two-year statute of limitations on filing the claim with the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission.
Contact Courtland workers’ compensation lawyers
If your employer’s insurance company denied your claim after a work-related accident or injury, or if you are facing other difficulties with the process, the dedicated workers’ compensation attorneys at Rutter Mills can help you. Call us today or contact us online to arrange a free consultation. We will investigate your case, explain your legal rights, and let you know your options. Because we work on a contingency basis, there is never a fee unless we win.
When you’ve been injured, you’ve got a lot at stake - but so does the insurance company. Walking into the court room with a serious lawyer makes all the difference. Watch our video to learn more about Rutter Mills. Your lawyer matters.
“Nothing makes you feel more vulnerable than being hurt or ill. And nobody likes to ask for help. But when you need it most, we’re at our best. We give our clients the confidence and support they need to know they’ll be taken care of – that they’ll get the best outcome possible, even in the face of a very bad situation.”
– Brother Rutter