Drunk driving continues to be a large factor in car accidents throughout Virginia. More often than not, these accidents lead to serious injury. What is the legal limit for drunk driving in Virginia? Drivers with blood alcohol content over 0.08 can be charged with drunk driving. There are serious repercussions for a DUI in Virginia. Being charged with a DUI can lead to heavy fines, jail time, license suspension, or worse.
Last month, on October 23rd, a 45-year-old Virginian man was driving under the influence and crashed his car on Route 258 in Franklin. His 12-year-old daughter was a passenger, and died at the scene. His other family members sustained serious injuries.(1) During the same month, in Petersburg, Virginia, a 29-year-old drunk driver wrecked into a power pole. Although there were no casualties, 800 Dominion Power customers were affected for more than four hours. The driver was charged with DUI and taken to jail.(2) Unfortunately, these stories hit close to home for many. What can you do to reduce these unnecessary accidents from happening?
First, drink responsibly. If you think it is not safe to drive, it most likely isn’t. Are you drinking at a restaurant or bar? Drink coffee or water, eat a meal, and wait. The rule of thumb is each alcoholic beverage takes roughly an hour to metabolize. Also, have a backup plan. Ask a friend or family member for a ride home, or call a taxi. What if your friend or family member is the one who needs a helping hand? Always notify your loved ones you can drive them home if they are unable to drive. Stress to your friends and family that intoxicated driving is dangerous and can lead to serious consequences.
If you or someone you love is injured due to an intoxicated driver, you will need to contact an attorney. Rutter Mills is an experienced Personal Injury Law Firm, and will ensure you receive the compensation you deserve. Call us today at 757-622-5000 to schedule an appointment.