Do you know that driving without car insurance is a serious offense? The Commonwealth of Virginia requires that drivers maintain adequate liability insurance. Being caught behind the wheel without insurance can lead to a serious headache for yourself or an innocent bystander. In Virginia, if you are involved in an auto accident and do not have car insurance, you may face a suspension of your driver’s license, registration, and license plates. You may be personally financially liable for any damages or medical expenses caused by the accident. And you might also face penalties such as a $500 statutory fee and additional fees associated with reinstating your vehicle registration, as well as face a mandatory financial responsibility insurance certificate for three years. If your license and your safety are important to you, make sure to drive insured.
The Car Accident Lawyers at Rutter Mills have been defending the rights of victims for over 50 years. If you have been injured in a car accident due to the negligence of another motorist, contact Rutter Mills today. We are available to speak to you about your case via phone or text at 757-622-5000, or through chat on our website.