As auto accident attorneys with over 50 years of experience winning cases in Hampton Roads, we know how important it is to constantly be aware of all new laws affecting drivers in Virginia. On July 1, 2019 hundreds of new laws passed by the Virginia General Assembly will go into effect across the state, and many are important for Virginia drivers to know.
Unpaid Court Fees No Longer Result in Suspended License
- On July 1st, 2019, driver’s who are unable to pay their court fees will no longer have their licenses suspended. In addition, the budget amendment reinstates driving privileges for the more than 627,000 Virginians who currently have their licenses suspended because of unpaid court fees.
Children Must Remain in Rear-Facing Car Seats Until Age 2
- Children in Virginia must remain in rear-facing car seats until the age of 2 or the minimum weight limit called for by the car seat manufacturer. If your car does not have a back seat, the child may sit in the front passenger seat but only when the passenger seat airbag is deactivated. The law does not apply to taxis, school buses, or limousines. The fine for a first offense is $50.
Fines for Holding a Cell Phone in A Work Zone
- Holding a cell phone while driving in a Virginia road work zone will now be against the law. Violators will face a $250 fine.
Failure to Move for Emergency Vehicles = Reckless Driving
- Failing to move over or slow down for police, fire, EMS and similar vehicles stopped with flashing lights will now be reckless driving, similar to speeding over 80 mph. Penalties for reckless driving in Virginia include up to a year in jail or a fine up to $2,500.
The personal injury attorneys at Rutter Mills represent clients throughout the Hampton Roads metropolitan area, including Norfolk, Newport News, Hampton, Virginia Beach, Chesapeake, and Portsmouth. Contact our office 24/7 to schedule a free consultation.