When injured at work, employee claims fall under Virginia’s workers’ compensation laws. It pays for medical expenses and lost wages. The idea behind this policy is that employees do not have to file personal injury negligence lawsuits against their employers to receive it or prove the employer was at fault.
In theory, this works well, but that is not always the case in actual practice. Employers or their insurance companies may try to deny or delay the claim or minimize the seriousness of the injuries.
The Northampton County personal injury law firm of Rutter Mills assists workers who have issues receiving the compensation they are due, or whose claims are unfairly denied. We can also assist them in filling out the often complex yet necessary paperwork to file it correctly.
Common Workplace Injuries
Most workplace injuries are relatively minor, and the person may need only a few days off to recover. When a severe injury occurs on the job, a person may suffer permanent disability or be unable to resume their job for a long time. Common serious workplace injuries include:
- Broken bones
- Loss of limbs
- Loss of vision
- Traumatic brain injury
Workers’ comp is not limited to injuries. Those who develop job-related illnesses, such as chronic obstructive pulmonary disease because of exposure to chemicals in the workplace may also file.
What to Do After a Workplace Injury
An employee injured while on the job must seek immediate medical treatment. Reporting it to the supervisor or manager as soon as possible is also critical. Get medical help and report even minor injuries. Minor injuries can turn into major problems. Within 30 days of the accident, give the employer a written notice of the accident.
Within 10 days of the employer receiving this written notice, they must file a “First Report of Injury” with the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission (VWCC). In turn, the worker must file a claim with the VWCC within two years.
Worker’s Compensation Denial
Virginia Workers’ Compensation regulations are complicated and time-sensitive. The most common, as well as the legal reasons for claim denial, may include:
- Not reporting the injury to the employer within 30 days
- Not filing the claim with the VWCC within two years
- Non-work-related injury
Depending on the circumstances, workers’ comp lawyers may contest the denial. For example, if the injured employee has documentation proving the injury was promptly reported to the employer, the claim can proceed on those grounds.
Contact Our Team of Northampton County Workers’ Compensation Lawyers
If you were seriously hurt at work, the workers’ compensation attorneys at Rutter Mills could help you receive the maximum compensation for your injuries. Call us today or contact us online to arrange a free consultation. Remember, time is of the essence when it comes to filing a workers’ comp claim, so do not delay.
When you’ve been injured, you’ve got a lot at stake - but so does the insurance company. Walking into the court room with a serious lawyer makes all the difference. Watch our video to learn more about Rutter Mills. Your lawyer matters.
“Nothing makes you feel more vulnerable than being hurt or ill. And nobody likes to ask for help. But when you need it most, we’re at our best. We give our clients the confidence and support they need to know they’ll be taken care of – that they’ll get the best outcome possible, even in the face of a very bad situation.”
– Brother Rutter